Marketing Whitepapers

May 16, 2008 at 6:20 am | Posted in Communication, General, Marketing, Online marketing | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I read voraciously for this blog and for my day job. One of the best resources for marketing or blogging advice is white papers.

White papers give you a comprehensive view of one particular topic or problem/solution that you can read in the length of your morning commute. I have been blogging a lot on the ROI of social media lately, and Chris Brogan’s new white paper summed up a lot of my related thoughts to trust economics. (I only wish I’d read it before I had written those posts…ah well, I’ll cite it sometime in the future.)

Chris nails it in ten short pages. That’s useful to any busy blogger or marketer.

Copyblogger has a lot of great resources, including this white paper on viral marketing. Search the site for more. And I just found a great white paper on personal branding by My Creative Team.

What are some white papers that have helped you? Share the links in the comments below. Also, what are some white papers you would like to see? I’m thinking about writing a white paper in the next few weeks, so suggestions are welcome.

If/when I do write that white paper, I will give advance copies to my subscribers before the general public. Subscribe via the RSS readers listed to the right or by email so you don’t miss out.

I look forward to hearing about the white papers that have helped you the most!

Update: I released my first white paper and you can download it here: Writing Content in a Web 2.0 World

Do let me know what you think!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. White papers are great for marketers. In some ways, they’ve become the new brochure.. and that can be a problem (or not). Traditionally, white papers go deeper than brochures and offer unvarnished data, analysis and opinion. However, there has been an evolution toward the brochure/white paper hybrid, where companies tend to spin quite a bit within the medium. I’ve written lots of both kinds (the sober ones and the jazzy ones). Either way is fine with me — writer gets paid regardless. 😉 A white paper on this topic might be an interesting one. Care to collaborate? I know lots of writers and marketers that would be able to contribute stories, examples and insights.

  2. […] Marketing Whitepapers bookmark to: […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

