Keep The Design Simple – 3 Easy Ways To Improve Your Email Campaigns Today

April 9, 2008 at 6:45 am | Posted in Communication, Companies, Decision making, Email, eNewsletters, General, Marketing, Online marketing | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

This week, I am doing a series on three easy ways to improve your email campaigns. There’s no rocket-science here, but the basics are often over-looked. On Monday, I posted about making your emails personal and on Tuesday I posted about making them targeted and relevant. While content is important, we can’t forget email design either.

Here’s a viable candidate for the mistake most often made by well-intentioned marketers: they over-design and don’t do enough usability testing. For instance, have you ever opened an email only to be greeted by one huge white box with a red “x” in it? No Sweat makes some great all-union-made clothes, but their enewsletter is one big image. And images are disabled automatically by most email vendors (including Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo, Outlook, and AOL – that’s a lot of your email audience).

Secondly, don’t forget the preview pane. Most Outlook users only view your email through their preview pane and this has two major results: emails viewed through the preview pane without enabling images do not count as opens and the preview pane blocks most of your email’s content.

Hence, advise your boss to relax a little when it comes to open rates (especially you B2Bers) and remember to design with the preview pane in mind. If your audience only sees the first 2-4 square inches in the upper left corner of your email, make them important!

I used a table of contents to good effect in a former job and we increased our open rate substantially because readers knew from the preview pane whether they wanted to read the full content of the email. And take special care to craft really intriguing subject lines and headlines.

Keep your logo prominent and small so that they know it comes from a trusted source if they can see the image and so it doesn’t take up too much valuable space if they can’t.

The art guys in your office are probably really good at what they do, but don’t forget that marketers are responsible in the end. Use their talents but don’t let them dictate what goes where. In my personal experience, I have found art directors very understanding and willing to work with me, once they understand the limitations imposed by the medium. (After all, they want their work to be seen too!) This article from 2005 still has relevant material about blocked images and preview pane hassles.

If you found this series useful, consider subscribing to OnlineMarketerBlog. I never spam – you’ll just be sure never to miss an important article. And if you are already a subscriber, thanks! Feel free to forward any post to friends or co-workers.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great post.. I use Outlook with the preview reading pane, and I can’t stand emails with blocked images. I have the option to download the images manually, but I rarely do it. The added hassle bugs me. If the marketer can’t come up with a compelling benefit massage that’s targeted to me and my buying history (in ascii text), then they can take a hike.

  2. Very useful info as I am new to e-marketing. Apologies for complete ignorance but what are B2bers? I have just, this week, sent out e-newsletters and was looking at the stats an hour ago. Was a bit worried about the ridiculously low clicking rate, although our delivery is way above 90%. I shall stop fretting now, because at least I know they have seen us. Is there any literature on the % of people who do click the red x? I usually do because I like images and hate the skeletal look of e-newsletter without pics. But I am getting the feeling that I am a minority. Txs.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

